Zip Code Rapists CD Now Available!

Things have been very hectic lately, so we haven’t had much time for blogging. However, we feel very confident that this exciting announcement will counteract whatever ill will we’ve earned by ignoring our public for months on end.

As most music fans know, the Zip Code Rapists were a talented young group comprising Gregg Turkington on vocals and John Singer on guitar. During their short but intense career, they inspired countless artists whose names we’re not allowed to divulge here for legal reasons, but you’d definitely know ‘em if you heard ‘em, believe me. They’re that good.

This lavish 36-song CD includes carefully remastered versions of Zip Code Rapists Sing and Play the Three Doctors and Other Sounds of Today (LP, 1992), The Man Can’t Bust Our Music (EP, 1993), and 94124 (EP, 1995), as well as previously unheard outtakes and compilation tracks, four songs from an incendiary 1993 show at CBGB, and a more relaxed and thoughtful performance from a 2006 reunion show.

But don’t take our word for it! Here’s the complete track listing:

  1. Touch Me
  2. Presidents Song
  3. The Best Never Rest
  4. Office Party
  5. Wired
  6. Phoebe
  7. The Three Doctors
  8. Tie A Yellow Ribbon
  9. Wicked Game
  10. Fuck A Duck
  11. Sundown
  12. Beverly Hills
  13. Good Ship Pablo Cruise
  14. Che
  15. #9 Dream
  16. Kick In The Heads
  17. Tuesday Street
  18. Old Folks At Home
  19. Darn It Duck
  20. Adam
  21. Hotel One
  22. Listen To The Band
  23. The Look Of Love
  24. Zip Code Gentlemen
  25. Ranch Style Beans
  26. I Need Him
  27. Henderson
  28. Happy Like Larry (He Taught Me How To Die)
  29. Universal Time II
  30. Once Upon A Time There Was A Pretty Fly
  31. The Suet Trees / Why People Do Heroin
  32. Riders On The Storm
  33. Life’s Been Good
  34. Dancing In The Dark
  35. Beverly Hills 90210 / Bentsen-Quayle Debate / Summer Breeze
  36. He’s Got The Whole World In His Hands

With the exception of 94124, none of this seminal material has ever been released on CD. And none of it was ever released on good-quality vinyl after competent mastering, either, so even if you’re familiar with the original releases, you’ll be amazed by all the details you missed!

The 16-page booklet features extensive notes by journalist Will York — which situate the band firmly in the tradition of Lukácsian critical realism — as well as colorful photos, baffling drawings, and raw musicological data that are intended primarily to provide a firm epistemic foundation for later historians. You also get a free rub-on tattoo, which can be made comparatively permanent with an application of spar varnish.

For more details, and a handful of song samples, click here. And stay tuned for other ZCR-related giveaways and bonus tracks!


  1. Comment by littlemy on April 7, 2009 10:34 pm

    I can’t wait!

  2. Comment by Mike H on April 8, 2009 11:16 am


  3. Comment by Belette Malade on April 13, 2009 1:18 am

    Gimme that! I won’t accept not being amongst the first ten. I’m from the other (bad old) side of the globe so my order came half a day earlier officially. Btw: Is this cd going to break when smashing against the forehead? I sadly lost all of my ZCR-vinyl that way because I saw it on tv sometime. :(

  4. Comment by Belette Malade on May 25, 2009 1:47 am

    What’s about this ZCR-movie? I saw trailer on youtube.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave us a goddamn comment!

Theory of Distraction is proudly powered by WordPress and themed by Mukkamu. Header photo by potato potato.